2009

100 Marathon Club

Minutes of the 2009 Annual General Meeting held 3.30pm, Sunday 4th January 2010 in the Norman Park Athletics Track Meeting Room, Hayes Lane, Bromley, Kent

The Chairman welcomed those members who had stayed after the handicap marathon to attend the meeting.

Apologies for absence had been received from Selina Da Silva, Alan Morton, Dave Rosser, Pete Burns, Colin Poole, Ernie Barker, Ted Goodreid, Ray Hoyle, Rush Yadave, Danny Kay, Steve Edwards, Richard Griffin, Brian Smith and Dave Sill.

Minutes of the 2008 AGM: Minutes were approved (Proposer Pam Storey and seconded by Bob Parmenter)

Reports of the Committee

- Chairman's report: Roger Biggs advised that the club was still going from strength to strength and that there were a number of new marathons in 2010, details of which can be viewed on the "What's New" page on the club website. 14 people completed their100th marathon in 2009 and a number of members achieved other major milestones. Details of these achievements can be viewed on the "New this week and Quick Reference" page on the website
- Secretary's report: Jack Brooks thanked his fellow Committee Members for all the hard work they've put in over the last year. He advised that attendance of the 6 Committee meetings through the year had been good given the travel and logistical difficulties with us having members all over the Country. 2 members have missed 2 meetings and 2 have missed 1 meeting. Jack wished everybody a happy and successful 2010.
- **Treasurer's report**: Tad Lancucki advised that the club's finances were healthy. The club currently holds £2,500 in kit, £800 in pins and £1,900 in the bank. In addition all loans by the members who funded our initial kit purchases have been repaid
- **Kit report**: Jack Brooks summarised the position as Colin Poole had been unable to attend. 68 items of kit have been sold during 2009. Additional vests are currently on order and we currently hold the current stock.
 - 1. 20 vests
 - 2. 17 T-Shirts
 - 3. 18 Sweatshirts
 - 4. 29 White Jackets
 - 5. 22 Caps
 - 6. 30 Blue Jackets
 - 7. 20 Sew-on badges.
- **Resolutions**: The proposed amendment to para 10 of the club constitution was approved as follows: "The Committee shall have the discretionary power to vet applications for membership and to expel members who are deemed to have acted or behaved in a manner so as to bring the club into disrepute. Disqualification from or being removed from the results of a race shall be deemed to have brought the Club into disrepute and will automatically result in expulsion from the Club unless the member concerned advises the Committee of mitigating circumstances and these are accepted." This was proposed by Jonathan Venning and seconded by Michael Grehan and there was a substantial majority in favour of this resolution.

Election of Committee Members: All of the existing Committee members were elected unopposed: Roger Biggs, Tad Lancucki, Peter Graham, Colin Poole, Selina Da Silva, Dave King and Jack Brooks (Proposer Dave Lewis and seconded by Dave Moles). There was a large majority vote in favour of re-election of the current Committee members.

Subscription Rates: It was agreed that subscription rates would be retained at a single fee of £10 in the year of joining with those joining in the final quarter of the year being deemed to have paid for the following year. The annual subscription fee in the year subsequent to the year of joining for Full and Associate members will be £10. Members who are aged 70 or over at 31st December will be entitled to free membership (from the subscription due for the year following their 70th birthday). The England Athletics individual Competition Licence Fee is not included within the Club fee. Roger Biggs advised that with an increasing number of overseas members the Committee was looking at the viability of charging a one-off joining fee for those members residing outside the UK and Southern Ireland. (Proposer Dave Lewis and seconded by Les Pullen). There was a large majority vote in favour of these proposals

Membership of EA, ARC and ABAC: Dave Lewis proposed that we affiliate to all 3 and Gina Little seconded. The proposal was approved.

PRESENTATIONS

Handicap Marathon

- 1. Peter Reed
- 2. John Wallace
- 3. Gareth Davies

The first three runners by time were: 1. Jared Walbridge (guest) 2. Dave Ross 3.Paul Allen (guest)

UK and Ireland 2009 Road Marathon Challenge

- 1. Michael Grehan = 29
- 2. Steve Edwards = 25
- 3. Jim Mundy = 24
- 4. Gary Wade and Selina Da Silva = 20 each
- 6. Mark Sanders = 19

50 Counties Award: Certificates were granted to Peter Graham and Gil John for achieving this major milestone.

Photo of the year: The photo was given to John Dawson with an extra copy going to Neil Fennell who took the photo

Award of Pins:

200 marathon pins are being awarded to Jim Mundy, Adam Holmes, Rich Holmes, Selina Da Silva, Peter Johnson and Jack Brooks

300 marathon pins are being awarded to David Moles, John Williams and John Dawson

500 marathon pins are being awarded to Martin Bush and Steve Edwards

700 marathon pin is being awarded to Brian Mills.

Any other business: Pam Storey advised that there are a limited number of entries still available for the Crawley Track Marathon on 10th April 2010.